SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following six Advocates, as Judges of the Patna High Court:

- 1. Shri Anjani Kumar Sharan
- 2. Shri Anil Kumar Sinha
- 3. Shri Rajendra Kumar Giri
- 4. Shri Prabhat Kumar Singh
- 5. Shri Partha Sarthy
- 6. Shri Vikash Kumar

The above recommendation made by the then Chief Justice of the Patna High Court on 20th July, 2018, in consultation with his two seniormost colleagues has the concurrence of the Chief Minister and the Governor of Bihar.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have consulted our colleagues conversant with the affairs of the Patna High Court. Copies of letters of opinion of our consultee-colleagues received in this regard are placed below.

For purpose of assessing merit and suitability of the above-named recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have carefully scrutinized the material placed in the file including the observations made by the Department of Justice therein. Apart from this, we considered it appropriate to have interaction with all the recommendees. On the basis of interaction and having regard to all relevant factors, the Collegium is of the considered view that S/Shri (1) Anjani Kumar Sharan, (2) Anil Kumar Sinha, (3) Prabhat Kumar Singh and (4) Partha Sarthy, (mentioned at Sl. Nos. 1, 2, 4 and 5 above) are suitable for being appointed as Judges of the Patna High Court.

As regards S/Shri (1) Rajendra Kumar Giri, and (2) Vikash Kumar (mentioned at Sl.Nos. 3 and 6 above), having regard all relevant factors and the material placed in the file, the Collegium is of the considered view that the proposal for their elevation deserves to be remitted to the Patna High Court. The Collegium resolves to recommend accordingly.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that S/Shri (1) Anjani Kumar Sharan, (2) Anil Kumar Sinha, (3) Prabhat Kumar Singh and (4) Partha Sarthy, Advocates, be appointed as Judges of the Patna High Court. Their *inter se* seniority be fixed as per the existing practice.

(Ranjan Gogoi), C.J.I.

(S.A. Bobde), J.

(N.V.Ramana), J.

April 01, 2019.